Churches suck

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by Sir Stoner, Feb 17, 2013.

1. Okay, i am NOT bashing on religion, i think god is fine, but i have problems with the violence caused by religion, the way people worship, and how people think he can heal all problems, i personally am athiest but I think if people are going to worship they should do that by just being a good person, i dont think anyone should have to attend a church and pay money to "be saved from hell", which also upsets me, churches just want money, so they scare you into believing youll go to hell. Anyone else have any thoughts about this?

2. As a former pastor I can say there are good churches and bad churches. In most evangelical churches, the church members make the Findlay decisions. So the church is nothing more than the people who attend it. Again there are really bad churches and really good ones. Most of the time the money is spent on the ministries of the church, again there are many bad examples. I can say that any denomination or church that says you have you give money to keep from going to hell is flat out ridiculous. I know that this was a previous tenant of Catholicism but heard it was dropped. Not 100% sure on that.

3. I do like the idea of a church where people gather to discuss beliefs and ideas but when people go to church just to reinforce what they already believe based on nothing then it can lead to very hardheaded people.

4. Don't like churches.