Choosing an ebb and flow system

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Futuregreenking, Jul 19, 2016.

1. #1 Futuregreenking, Jul 19, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2016
    Hey guys

I have been buying grow equipment for a couple months now and it is about time for me to buy (or build) a system. I've narrowed it down to the point where I know I want 5 gallon buckets (roughly 15-25.) I've got 4 1000w double ventilated hoods. My question is, build my own or purchase one new. I have spent a good amount of money on quality equipment so I don't want to mess up by building a system that isn't as efficient and/or effective as I would like but I really wouldn't mind saving a few bucks. On the other hand I wouldn't mind spending the extra money to know that I will not have any problems. My other main concern is that when buying a system (the big boy) is what I'm leaning towards or something similar) is that it comes with the net pots, hosing etc. is it much cheaper to build my own? One last question, I would like to have a veg room ready for flower when the time is right..do I need or is it recommended that I veg in a 5 gallon system like the one described above? It's a lot of money to have 2 set up and ready but I don't want to deprive my roots of growing if there isn't enough room so my real question is how much mass does the average root have around flower time for DWC and how do I go about transplanting if I need to do so. Thanks in advance ✍

2. If you're wanting to do big boy style bucket e&f, check out stoner's thread. He vegges on a flood table, then puts the baskets into the bucket system for flower. Pretty sure he assembled the buckets etc, but purchased the control bucket. Pry saved a bit over ready made.
    Grand dog Tahoe

He's growing in coco at the moment, but the beginning of that thread may give you ideas.

3. Thanks man that helps a lot

• Like Like x 1
  4. Kronicly Insanes 2016 indoor adventures
    Kronicly Insanes 2016 indoor adventures