Cfl vs led for mico grow!???

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by ProtaJ, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Any input is welcome!

2. Led's will give you a better spectrum of light.

3. What about lumens? Isn't that what it comes down to?

4. [quote name='"ProtaJ"']

What about lumens? Isn't that what it comes down to?[/quote]

Ehhh not really. Par is what you want. Think of it like the certain spectrum of light is most effective at being converted. Some spectrums aren't effective at all. Like if you had green lights almost none would be absorbed.

5. I think led's are the better choice overall.

6. Lol sorry that came out very stupid. I mean with cfls you can get those spectrums with the correct bulb. So what one would be better.

7. cfls in cool white (vegging, blue tint, 5,000k), and warm (flowering, red tint, 2,500) vs LEDs

I know nothing about LEDs I'm just beginning to look into it. They seem like a better fit for a micro grow.

8. For a serious micro grow with a large budget, LED all the way. LED are more efficient in watt per lumen output, heat output and the correct spectrum of light output.

I've read several things that compare a 180watt LED with very specific growing spectrum bulbs that is as efficient as a 600watt HPS. Overall the LED puts out fewer lumens than the 600, but puts out more correct colors of light, but look to drop $500+ on one of those 180watt led tho.

9. Thank you man that helps! My only question is how do how do these?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Reflector-D...D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

10. Maybe someone else can chime in since I have no actual experience in using them, just got knowledge from research.

11. Thank you regardless man really!

12. They are essentially flat. They heat up, but not so much. And they need cooling fans.

All together far less heat tha CFLs, plus these are not flat, need high voltage wiring. Boxes as well or leaves touching the CFL spiral will burn.