CFL Types

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by BZDR, Jul 16, 2009.

1. This is my first time growing and I think I am going to use CFLs since they are cheaper to buy and to run. IF this goes well I will eventually upgrade to HPS. I also don't want to burn them up (since it's my first time).

does anyone strongly recommend against CFLs?

I am only growing two autoflower plants.

Also, can someone please advise me what CFL bulbs to get? And maybe where they get them?

2. i personally use 43 watt day light bulbs i picked up at Kmart for about 9 bucks a piece, i have 1 right now on a single plant and its doing fine, but im going to upgrade to a total off four bulbs, for a total of 172 watts, ive seen some really nice grows with just 4 26watt daylight CFLs if your just going with two auto flowering plants then get something that will equal over 100 watts, ive read on here something like 100 for one plant, 50 for each additional plant, so my best advice would use 4 43 watt bulbs like i would (if your on a budget), one on the top of each plant and one on the side of each where it would provide the best light or 1-2 200 watt daylight cfl's those require a mogul socket and are about 80 bucks a bulb from what ive seen

pros and cons are really posted all over this site, youll get bigger buds with a HID setup, but at the cost of hotter air, more money to set up, and a higher electric bill while CFL's will yield smaller buds, but are cooler removing the need for ventilation, and you can place them alot closer to the plants

3. i use a 300 watt cfl which r about £15 pound here in uk then i just use few at around 30watts for any areas that get shadowed the 300watts cfls r quite big but have a very low heat output which is great

4. what about spectrums, don't i need to pay attention to those? Or does it not matter with autoflowering?

5. 6700k range for veg and 2700k for flower