CFL Bagseed Stealth Grow

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by RedeyeJedi90, Jan 18, 2013.

1. Been trawling this site for the last year gathering information and getting myself ready, then like a total noob decided to disregard half of it and just go for it. Funds are tight, I'm high and I want to grow.

The Set-Up

I didn't plan on starting this grow until later this year but saw this cabinet for sale in a second hand shop and thought it looked perfect. It needed a couple of modifications but nothing major. To start off I painted all the inside flat white as I had some paint lying round. There was a big hole in the back of this cabinet (not sure what it was for originally, I'll post pics later). I needed something to cover the hole that i could mount fans on and run a cable for my extension lead through. I found an old set top box that was the same width and half the height so I took it apart, glued the two pieces together and mounted it on the back of my cabinet. I attached 2 80mm computer fans to it which are both wired up to a 12v charger in a way that they draw about 6v each (i think), they are both used for exhaust up near the lights, I decided to go for a passive intake.

I have 2 30w 6500k CFLs at the moment both mounted onto a biscuit tin that is screwed to the bottom of a shelf in the cabinet, the cables all plug into an extension lead on top of this shelf.

The Plant

I started out with 10 bagseeds, on closer inspection a few had a bit of a close call with my grinder so i chucked em in some soil. The rest I used the paper towel method. One germinated after about a day and was put in soil, the rest didn't germinate so I ended up planting them since it turned out I was using my girlfriends favourite bowl for the paper towels :confused: