Careers in Physics?

Discussion in 'General' started by HeaDiEs RusH, Sep 27, 2011.

1. I'm considering changing my current major from Geology to something that I have a bit more passion for. I've always found Physics to be very interesting, and I would consider majoring in it, but I'm not sure I can expect to find any real jobs with a Physics degree. It seems like a fairly general and pointless major where I won't be able to do much else besides teach. However, I realize that I'm probably wrong, so please enlighten me blades! I would love to major in Physics as long as I can expect a real future in it.

2. You could do stuff with, building shit. Like, buildings, and shit like that.

3. Engineering?

4. #5 AHAZIAH, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 1, 2011
    I am a Student of BS(Physics) currently in 5th semester and I know that the career of physics is so bright and the coming future there are also lots of opportunities for Physics because it use almost used in every field even in Doctors life too.

5. Hear about that particle test recently that went faster than the speed of light?

6. Physics is very interesting and I love reading the discoveries being made about it. But physics was never my cup of tea, I really preferred Chemistry. Not that I'd really consider a career in either.

7. With just a BS in Physics, you won't be able to do much that's directly related to physics. With a PhD, you'd be able to do research and be a part of some pretty cool, groundbreaking shit if you play your cards right.

I worked at Aerospace for a summer, and one of the employees there had just a BS in Physics. He was a VERY respected programmer, but didn't have any formal training in computer science, he had just learned it all himself.

I'd maybe suggest an engineering degree. You'll have to take quite a few physics classes and if you're a civil/structural/industrial/mechanical/systems engineer, you'll do a lot of physics based stuff at work.