Capickuto's First Outdoor Grow

Discussion in 'Outdoor Grow Journals' started by Capickuto, Apr 26, 2016.

1. Hello everyone! I have read this site for some time now, and finally decided to join. Not only that, I have started my own outdoor grow and would love to hear some insight. Any advice, or help would be greatly appreciated. Yes, I do know that I am not a pro like some of you on here, and yes, I do know I may not know the "right" way to do things. But I am learning, and would like to learn more about how to make bigger, better, healthier plants. Resulting in higher yields and over all a great experience along the way. With that being said, here goes...

I started on 04/12/16 with 11, different seeds. I started by germinating them in water for 24 hours roughly, or until they completely sank in their cups.

On 04/13/16, after all 11 seeds sunk completely in their water, I switched them over to germinating them in paper towels. This process took about 2 days.

On 04/15/16, I checked on my seeds and they were almost all growing tails from .75in to 1.5in. All of them were planted in Miracle Gro Potting Soil, inside of Red Solo Cups. (A grow buddy of mine actually said it was okay to use MG PS to start the seedlings out, but after reading other forums on this site, other people have said otherwise?)

On 04/21/16, all of the plants have sprouted. They all are showing good growth. I have attached a photo to show their growth.

image.jpeg

On 04/22/16, I discovered a tragedy with one of my favorite strains. The stem had bent over, but was still in tact.
    image.jpeg

A grow buddy of mine, informed me that it is best to keep them under light as much as possible right now, that it can help with growth. So I decided to go invest in 2 CFL 1600Lumens x 6500Kelvin lights. Since the plants are still small and capable of easily being moved, I decided to put them outside during the daylight hours, and move them inside under a light fixture at night.

image.jpeg image.jpeg