Cannabis seeds from the 80's!

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by salviaaddict, May 6, 2012.

1. hello, my name is cam. i am new to growing but i have something i think noone else has. i have stumbled accross some seeds from 1983. they were from the last harvest from my grandma's plants when she was a grower. i honestly dont know how they were stored for 20 years but when i saw them they were in a sealed bag. she said they have just been in her droor since she got them. i have been germinating them for 4days, and none of the seeds look to be sprouting at all. i know since they are older it takes more time but how much more time? she gave them to me as a big "if" thing ya know? is it even possible to grow seeds from so long ago? and a lil side note, the seeds are a little bit smaller then a seed u got a week ago.

If anyone can help me or give me some advise i would greatly appreciate it.

2. I highly doubt they'd grow but stranger shit's happened. Put em between two moist paper towels then sandwhich that in tin foil as if you were going to bbq them(DON'T obviously:p). That's the best germination technique and the best chance you'd have and keep them at room temperature.:smoke:

3. im subbed cuz i want to see this shet. but srsly use that germin technique.

4. wraped them in tinfoil. i hope these germ, because if they do... its going to be the shiiit. on a side note, i read if you squish them after a couple of days and they mush they are no good, is this true?

5. ^has no real bearing. If you saturate the seeds in water they will get soft and mushy. To test if a seed has matured enough for sprouting you can squeeze it BEFORE dunking it in water. I don't think this would help determining if 20 year old mature seeds can germinate though

If they haven't germinated in a few days, I don't think its likely that they will. Don't toss them until mold grows though; hold onto hope!