Can someone give me the basics on soil?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Pass The Dro, Feb 3, 2003.

1. I am just getting into this hobby and I researched the lighting and finally decided on a 400W HPS. The next step I suppose is to get a soil that works for my plants. Can someone give some recipies or instructions on how co make the perfect blend?

2. *uppin*

I need an answer for this too...can anyone help?

pz

3. Im onley in my first grow but im useing a miraclegrow potting mix you can get it anywhere. for every 15 lbs bag of mix i added a small 7 qt bag of both perlight and vermiculite.
    its working very well for me. I read up on it a lot , and am convinced that it is basicly personal prefrence. This is my fist grow myself, just thought it would help

4. wal mart potting soil works as good as any type of soil.

5. I made a mix of 5 parts potting soil, 5 parts perlite, 1 part worm castings, 1 part bat guano ... am on my first grow so I don't have anything to compare it with but my plant is kicking butt .. she's about 6 feet tall .. didn't do any fertilizing till about 3 weeks ago .. 1 week after I started flowering ..she vegged for 2 months

6. yea u could make up a batch of soil but why bother.

i agree with BPP...just go out and buy some ready made soil and some ok fert and u will be fine.

mircle grow soil is too expensive and prob does nothing better than walmart soil.

i buy mine from home depot

7. Every time a Question is asked about fertilizer or soil, you say go get it at walmart.

Do you happen to work at walmart and get extra when you reefer people there? lol, juz j/k

8. well actually i get my soil at home depot.

but that besides the pt...and no i dont work at walmart...in fact i hate the place...gives me the creeps that some old guy or lady says hi and bye to ya.
    like they make so much fricken $$$ that they can hire people to just creep me out.