Can I teach myself guitar?

Discussion in 'The Musician in U' started by BuddhistBrian, Jul 14, 2012.

1. I have no music experience at all but I can sing pretty well and I'd like to learn the guitar. I'd rather not take the dent in my bank account by paying for lessons. I heard Eddie Van Halen learned on his own, is it possible for a non-musical genius? I consider myself quite intelligent with a nice IQ score.

I want to learn acoustic, and just rock out on my own. I don't plan on becoming famous, I don't want to. I have other plans for my future haha.

So basically I am just asking if it's possible?

2. Yes.... Most people learn on their own. I did too. Lessons are only really worth while once you actually have tons of skill and just want to get some extra help doing something, or playing with your favourite bands' guitarist (via bandhappy).

3. [quote name='"Demiurge"']Yes.... Most people learn on their own. I did too. Lessons are only really worth while once you actually have tons of skill and just want to get some extra help doing something, or playing with your favourite bands' guitarist (via bandhappy).[/quote]

Is there any advice you could give me on learning on your own?

4. Yeah sure you can i taught my self, tabs and occassionaly videos at first, then i found my way :3

5. I've been wanting to teach myself guitar for the longest time. Man if only my brother hadnt taken the guitar :/

6. Rather than ask, why not do?

7. Ultimate-guitar.com

I've learned everything about anything guitar related from that site. It's the grasscity of the guitar world.

8. Yeah I taught myself, just watch beginner videos on youtube.

Learn your basic open chords, bar chords and pentatonic scale and you'll be set.

After that it becomes self explanatory

9. [quote name='"ddoublevision"']I've been wanting to teach myself guitar for the longest time. Man if only my brother hadnt taken the guitar :/[/quote]

image-3623392910.jpg

^^thats when you do one of these.