Camera help!

Discussion in 'The Artist's Corner' started by 2ndGenHippy, Nov 18, 2011.

1. So I'm thinking about doing a little photography as a hobby, my question to you is what camera and lens should I start with? I'm a complete newb and don't wanna break the bank but am willing to spend ~600 on a new or good used camera. I'll be doing a lot of nature and still life shots, but also would like to capture some good action shots at the racetrack. Well that's it, point me in the direction I need to go blades...

2. Ive been taking pictures for about 3 years. shit is fun. juts buy an entry level dsrl, canon, nikon, its basically the same. and the stock 18-50 lens should serve you well for a while.
    Flickr: William Vazquez's Photostream

3. This is a pretty tough question because you threw sports into the equation. Immediately I think you should save more and skip the entry level to go with a midrange that is built more solid and has a higher framerate and better autofocus system.

However, you do list the sporting aspect as the last thing you want to do, leaving nature and still life as the most prominent, which turns me back around to thinking you should likely just buy an entry level.

Oh well. You have a ton of options.

Entry Level Options:

• Nikon D5100 (said to be one of the best entry level because of it's great sensor)
    • Nikon D3100 (not as good, but cheaper, and a decent camera to learn on)
    • Canon Rebel T2i (probably Canon's best entry level)
    • Canon Rebel T3
    All of those cameras are in the range of around $500-800.

Mid-Range:

• Nikon D90
    • Nikon 7000
    • Canon 50D
    • Canon 60D
    These are all in the range of $800-1200.

If you're willing to buy used, D90s, can be bought up for cheaper. Same with the Canon 50D. The 60D and D7000 are still relatively new cameras on the market and used prices don't really reflect any depreciation.