Calcium deficiency due to low pH?

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by fredw040, Apr 17, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Hi so this is my first time growing in coco coir (not full hydroponics I am watering by hand).

So a little background. I have 16 plants (seeds, OG Cheese) under a 600w hps. I have done 12 days of good vegging and am into day 2 of 12/12. I had to start flowering a week or two earlier than I would have liked because of my crappy time managment skills, in 90 days I'll be away from home for a week.

The nutrients that I use (Gold label hydro/coco A+B) recommend a pH of 5.2 during veg. That is really friking low, goes against everything I have read, but I decided to go with it as it's the recommendation of the manufacturer. My tap water EC is 550uS/cm, which is very high but I contacted the manufacturer and they said that their nutrients are made for hard water and that it's fine. My temps are fine (20-26 celcius) however my humidity is very low at around 25%rh but there's not a whole lot I can do about that right now.

Anyway here's the problem, three of my plants have had rusty/blotchy looking leaves since they sprouted. It looks like a calcium deficiency but I'm not too sure.
    At first I thought that it was just going to sort itself out (not too sure why I thought that, could have solved this a week ago).

It was only getting worse. I read that low pH can cause calcium lockout and that's what it looks like, so three days ago I decide to increase pH day by day, first to 5.4 and today I fed at about 5.7. My nutrient manufacturer is the only source I found that recommends 5.2 anyway... I have no idea why.