buying first hps light (apollo)

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by FriendOfEvanW, Nov 11, 2015.

1. So I'm about to pull the trigger and by my first HPS light setup...I'm a beginner so I'm thinking of going with the Apollo 400w HPS setup off Amazon. The price is right, and I'm only going to be growing 6 plants in a SOG type setup. Do you think 400w will be enough light, and what is your experience with Apollo products? I'll be buying the kit with the ballast, timer, and hangers, so what else will I need to pick up in order to get going on this?

2. #2 lotek590, Nov 11, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2015
    yes, that's a great price. 400w should cover about a 2x2 grow footprint. You can probably find a review on amazon. 600w would be even better if the price is not too high.

3. 2x2 is just about right. How much more heat does the 600w put out compared to the 400w? Also, for such a small grow op, would I be better off with a Cool Tube reflector or just the gull-wing? It will be going in a small closet.

4. gull wing will be ok. In a closet you can save yourself a lot of trouble by starting with autofem seeds. No need to lightproof your closet. I run my lights 24/0 24/7. If it gets too hot I just open the closet doors. 400w is fine.

5. I'm already growing regular photoperiod clones, and I'm pretty happy with them. Lost Coast Hashplant and Nigerian Nightmare. I'm just looking to upgrade my cheap-o CFL setup for my next run of clones.

Anyone have personal experience with Apollo products?

6. I run 2 400 watt ipower lights which are very similar to the apallo 400 watt lights. I am very happy with them, they work very well for me. And when I upgrade to eather a 1000 watter or 2 600 watters, I'll be sticking with the same brand. ipower, apallo same price except ipower comes with a super hps for flowering. Good stuff in my opinion.