Business idea reality check

Discussion in 'Marijuana Business and Industry' started by Carni, Jan 29, 2019.

1. #1 Carni, Jan 29, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
    Growers,

I only just started growing weed but I think I am in love with it. The last time I felt this way was when I started learning how to program computers, and I made a career out of it. So I believe I am up to the task of starting a growing microbusiness.

I live in San Diego. I don't have a lot of money saved up but I have a high income. My mom is going to buy a house soon. I was thinking of covering part of the house into a grow room. I'd have my mom maintain the plants so she could retire from cleaning houses.

I would pack the product in house and sell directly to customers or dispensaries. I am not looking to make a lot of money. I would keep my current job. I could create a website for my business myself.

Some questions I have:

1. Can I grow and operate the business from a house?

2. How much are the licensing fees? I know I need one for growing and one for selling if I decide to sell to customers directly.

3. How much flower can I produce assuming 50 watts per sq ft and a streamlined cycle? A better question may be, how many plants or sq ft should I dedicate to blooming? Because the bloom room will determine the size of the harvest.

4. What other questions should I ask?

• Like Like x 1
  2. You and 5 million neighbors ..?

weed in Cali takes a lot of expensive water and skill

more so if you are selling weed to medicals

you could sell to your local 7/11 eventually

but right now more weed is heading to the $2.00 per gram level

tho is recovering in many sectors but at considerable cost to growers

many legal growers are waiting to move into the executive 'wine' like market

a guy in your position will need training, serious cash, a mentor and a lawyer

good luck

• Like Like x 4
  3. What about them?
    What do you mean sell to medicals?