Burning beginner questions: the sun, the moon, hermies, stress, and movements

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by SenorDingDong, Jul 8, 2010.

1. #1 SenorDingDong, Jul 8, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2010
    hi all,

I'm a beginner, so excuse my idiocy. I'm sure by the time you're done reading this thread, I will have lived up to my namesake in every way, shape and form. But at least I admit it. Hopefully these questions will help others as well. I will post some detail macro pictures tomorrow, but I've got some burning issues in my mind.

I started my first fully organic outdoor grow with 2 clones a little over a month ago, and right now they stand about chest high. Organic potting soil with a hint of guano is all I've been using, and they've been very successful little devils up to this point. Now I'm a bit wary. They have started early signs of sex, which I noticed today. Both have confirmed white pistils, toward the upper halves of the plants. There are also some unconfirmed growths on the lower parts. I hope these are pistils as well, but I am suspicious that my plants are both destined hermies. Crossing my fingers to the max.

I have questions, first, about hermies:

1) How common are hermies really? Does this happen often or rarely? What is the main reason a plant turns hermie?

2) How much "stress" does it take before a plant goes hermie? Is this usually caused by over fertilizing? Underwatering? Lighting schedule? Moving them around? What's the main stressors involved?

My plants have undergone a some stress. Due to circumstances I won't get into, they had to be moved inside during the day for 3-4 hours. Then due to other circumstances, they had to be moved into the garage for 3-4 hours again during the day, about a week later. The garage is totally dark. I know this is a big no no but my friggin roommate did it.

I have questions secondly, about light, darkness, and movement: