building a pc for gaming and CAD

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by oztralyn, Feb 9, 2013.

1. Apparently I need to use a NVIDIA quadro graphics card to run the CAD program I need to use for university (solidworks).

So I've done a little research and my housemate helped me come up with this build. I've never built a PC before and was wondering if anyone can foresee any issues I might come across with this setup.

Any input would be GREATLY appreciated. And liked and repped, if you're into that stuff.

Leadtek NVIDIA Quadro 2000 1GB

Intel Core i5 3570K

Seagate Barracuda 1TB ST1000DM003

Samsung SH-222BB SATA DVDRW Drive OEM

ASRock Z77 PRO4-M Motherboard

Corsair Carbide 200R Compact ATX Case

Corsair Vengeance CML16GX3M2A1600C10 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3

Corsair CX-600 Modular 80+ Bronze Power Supply

TP-Link TL-WN951N Wireless N PCI Adapter

Corsair Hydro Series H55 CPU Cooler

CoolerMaster 120mm 4-Pack Fans

2. #2 BP to the DP, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2013
    You might want a better psu, that's one part you definitely don't want to skimp on.

Corsair is a great brand, but that might not be enough power, I'm not familiar with how much power the Quadro cards take though.

Are you planning on overclocking? If so, you should look at the corsair h80.

The radiator is bigger, but you have the fans and the room in your case.

3. +1 to this.

Also, never heard of "Leadtek". Consider grabbing the PNY branded card as they are a reputable company.

4. For the processor you can save yourself $15 by getting the Core i5 3570 (instead of the 3570K). If you don't understand exactly what the K means, then you don't need it. Otherwise you end up paying more money for the same processor.