Bubble buckets

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by budgetgrower, Nov 26, 2017.

1. So I'm new to this hydro side of growing. I've been starting to move over from soil. I'm trying bubble buckets to start since they are cheap and easy for me to make. I have 2 buckets with rockwool sprouted seeds and 2 from clones. I'm taking it real slow on the nutrients to start now (advanced nutes). My first plant got nute lock and turned to paper overnight. My question is about how long should it take for those roots to fill a 3.5 gallon bucket with a 6 inch netpot lid? I've been slowly dialing up the nutes and so far so good. Lol

Sent from my SM-G955U using Grasscity Forum mobile app

2. With an 8 week veg and 8-10 week bloom they will fill with roots solid all they way up to the net pot. They'll make a suction sound when they're removed for water change. I also use 3.5 gallon buckets. They're great for headroom but you have to top off with nutrients daily because the res is so small. I have plants eating 1 gallon a day 8 weeks in veg right now. Since you can only fit maybe 2 gallons in the res it's fairly depleted after a day. It needs to be topped of with a balanced lite nutrient line or the plant will be starving in 2 days. This is only after they get big. A small plant can go a week with little top off.

Drill a hole in your net pot and let the roots get extra long on your clones before moving to the bucket. They can have roots in the res day 1 instead of taking a week to grow trough the net pot sometimes.

• Like Like x 2
  3. I run 5 gallons with a 20 gallon res and I find it takes about 4 weeks to get a good root mass maybe 6 weeks and flip it then to be honest

my one and only experience thus far was a clone vegged for 4 weeks. it filled the 5 gallon i'd say about 1/2 full and was drinking about 2 gallon of strength and a half nutes at its prime. when I put it in the flower tent it literally exploded 4x its mass, so be carful.

• Like Like x 1