Brown leaf tips. Help

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by dsomers, Jun 7, 2015.

1. Hello All.  I have six plants of a few different varieties that are about five weeks into flowering.  They suddenly have brown leaf tips--just a touch but my fear is that with the sudden onset it will get worse.  (I think it's in the last day, though it's possible I just didn't notice earlier.)  A few plants have more of it, but it's fairly consistent.  The smallest, newest leaves (really tiny ones) have mostly no brown on the tips, though a bit, but it's mostly on larger leaves.  I have been using general organics fertilizer and adjusting the water (with nutrients) to pH 5.5-6.  Temp is in the low 70s, humidity 50-60%.  I've wated with Azamax a few times, do not see any pests.  It sure looks like something to do with water or nutrients, but I'm new to this and unsure how to proceed.  I don't think it would be excess nutrients--that would be more even across the leaves, right?  Any thoughts appreciated!  DS

2. Post pics, possible build up, when's the last time you've flushed.

3. Pics?

what are you growing in, soil?

Sounds like too much nutes or pH imbalance.

4. #4 dsomers, Jun 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 7, 2015
    Right.  Here are pictures.  Yes, growing in soil.

I have never flushed!  Should I do that, or for something mild like this is it okay to just water with no fertilizer?  Assuming that's the problem...

Attached Files:

5. #5 Baked Bread Baker, Jun 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 7, 2015
    Do you get any runoff when watering? Salts will build up and if you aren't getting runoff/ haven't flushed since multiple feedings then you are just compiling more salts on top of each other.

6. well. now i'm realizing that down low there are suddenly some leaves that are fading and yellowing, which sure looks like nitrogen deficiency.  pictures not working right now.  is it possible the leaf tips could also come from low nitrogen?