Brewing Compost Tea for Young Plants

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by paintballerb2k, Aug 4, 2012.

1. I'm new to organics and am running my first batch of plants with it. I have some clones 2 weeks in soil since they showed roots in small rockwool cubes. I'm using a soil blend I made myself which has a small amount nutrients in it.

Some of the plants are yellowing and showing signs of hunger. I either did not have enough nutrients in my starter mix or did not mix it well enough to have more than 2 weeks of food.

I want to hit them all with an ACT (soil drench) but would like some input before doing so. I really don't wan't to mess up on these plants and burn them. I'm used to growing hydro with coco/perlite so organic is completely new to me.

Here's my ACT mix:
    - 1 gallon tap water
    - 1 TBSP molasses
    - 1 TBSP EWC
    - 1 TBSP Seaweed Extract

I am planning on feeding them straight tea without diluting unless you think it will be too strong? Do you think it is too weak... should I have 2 TBSP EWC instead of 1? I'm also planning on letting it brew 24 hours before using.

Any input is greatly appreciated... as you can see the clones definitely need some nutrients.

Attached Files:

2. 6 tablespoons EWC - is it good quality?
    1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon black strap molasses
    drop the seaweed extract; you might make a separate kelpmeal tea or just topdress (regular livestock kelpmeal is all you need)

I do not know what your brewer set up is. More detail is good.

I find that when plants need a kick that an EWV (vermicompost) slurry works great. Just mix up a thick soupy mixture and pour on your soil. Mixing in a few drops of molasses sometimes helps.

3. What is the soil mix?

4. Both of those guys ^^^^^^^^^^

Wet