Book Forward

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by mindbender82, May 26, 2013.

1. Just something I'm working on....

Caution: "Leave your ego at the door."

An old acquaintance introduced me to that phrase shortly after I graduated high school. I never appreciated it very much back then due to the fact that as far as I was concerned its smug interjection into our discussions always smacked of accusation and stood out to me as an invisible white flag whose bearer had no other recourse than to concede an argument without really conceding. By pretending I had been the one to take things too personally, he was often successful at ending the argument without ever admitting he was truly a big baby who didn't like his opinions challenged. That meant I had to settle for scratch rather than taking home the prize of actually knowing I was the undisputed champion of friendly intellectual debate.

Honestly, I lived to be right for a very long time. Now I don't feel as strongly about it. In fact what my friend parroted to me from his local marital arts dojo was actually good advice. When reading this book, please keep a completely open mind. Leave your ego at the door, and forget what you know or think you know about anything.