Bokashi Sticky?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by ChillyWilly5, Oct 23, 2013.

1. I am no expert and actually just purchased the things to start my first Bokashi bucket.  It seems a lot of organics users are supplementing with Bokashi composting.  It would be nice if we could get a thread and make it a sticky or one of the more experienced users start one?  Think it would be nice to share all kinds of info on the subject.

2. #2 3Deez, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 23, 2013
  3. Thank you dumdum. Always appreciated. 

4. <sup>Started my Bucket today with 2 gallon buckets.  I have a worm bin so Im not producing enough waste to fill up a 5 gallon.  Threw in banana peels, leeks, coffee grinds, kale, potato skins.  See how this goes.</sup>

5. I do bokashi...just started a few months ago but am excited when I will use this in my next re-amend.

I unfortunately do not have a worm bin so this was my next alternative. I run two 5 gal setups so I can always have some collecting/pickling. I ran one and its now compost but im enriching a specific spot in my outside land before I start pulling it out. Maybe another month and itll be good.

6. Im hoping that Wak might pop over since he's had successful run with it in his recycled soil. I particularly want to know how fast it breaks down in indoor soil since we typically dont have alot of bugs breaking it down like outside.

7. I plan to put my finished bokashi in an indoor Rubbermaid and let it decompose by covering with my organic soil.  The thought being I will have two different types of humus when amending my next soil.  Worm Castings and Bokashi compost.  I will keep you guys updated on how well this works.

8. #8 waktoo, Oct 24, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
    2-3 weeks and it looks like the soil that you mixed it with. ~ 4 1/2 gallon bucket of fermented material mixed with enough soil to fill a 30 gallon Rubbermaid tote.