Blackstrap molasses in coco?

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by Wingates, Jul 17, 2017.

1. Hello everyone.

Just wondering if anyone has utilised blackstrap in conjunction with their nutes? If so, how did you go about it mixing it with your nutes? I'm using a 2 part nute schedule (still in veg).

I've considered using it as a foliar spray but everything I've read says that using it as a foliar spray is more targeted towards fixing potash deficiencies. Any input would be muchly appreciated.

*passes the dutchie to the left*

Sent from my SM-G900H using Grasscity Forum mobile app

• Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. Hey did you ever get an answer to this. Im a noob trying to learn

3. I have very little experience but I will go on a limb here. Coco is a soilless medium, molasses only feeds the soi(or microbes) Based on that fact, I don't think it will help in Coco bc the nutrients given the plant are already immediately available, negating the need for the breakdown of organic "stuff". I could be wrong though.

4. I figured the same but I've heard that it improves flavour. More interested in that than the nute uptake aspect. Guys running dwc have issues with it blocking up their pipes but in coco with a hand fed system it should be viable if it'll actually have any impact on the taste.

5. The plant gets no direct benefit from molasses.
    Molasses feeds bacteria or at least that's the idea. (I've read once that the molasses is a "heavy" sugar and can bog down your micro life if used to heavily)
    No with that being said if you have added a bacteria to your regiment, then you might see some improvement from molasses.
    I would start with a compost tea. It's the same concept but a little more controlled. I've run compost teas through RDWC and coco systems for a day before changing the Rez and had great results.

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

• Like Like x 1
  6. Thanks for that

• Creative Creative x 1