Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Bipolar, convincing parents

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by explosive, May 25, 2010.

1. So I've been smoking for several years, and I also have bipolar disorder. Just recently my parents found out that I smoke, and they're not too happy about it. They're afraid that it's going to make me turn psychotic or have a manic episode or something. I've tried telling them that I've been doing it for a long time since my last episode and I haven't had another, so it probably isn't going to cause a manic episode. That doesn't convince them, though. They think it could happen anyway - it might just take a while.

What's at issue isn't whether or not I'm going to do it. I'm going to keep smoking no matter what. However, I would feel better if I could get my parents on my side - to at least make them realize that it isn't going to cause psychosis or anything like that. It'd be nice if I could smoke in the house, too - though that might be expecting too much. :smoke:

Anyway, does anybody have any ideas as to what I could say to convince them that smoking is just fine for me? Any evidence that I could show them or facts I could tell them?

2. their often fear that marijuana is gon make some one go pshyco.. in the whole time i been using MJ i never seen a case that proves it.. maybe a case study that says find links.. but often this study are a bit holey for my taste..