Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

BHO to coconut oil tincture

Discussion in 'Medical Marijuana Usage and Applications' started by sapphir, Aug 26, 2017.

1. Hello everyone! I am totally new to trying to make anything THC/CBD. I am wanting to make a coconut oil tincture from shatter to help my sister with her pain from Ehler-Danlos. I can't seem to find an actual recipe for this particular process. I've gathered that I need to deoxycarbolate the shatter as well as add lecithin for the best bioavailability. I have no idea how much lecithin to add. Can someone point me to a recipe for BHO to coconut oil tincture with lecithin?

2. This is very easy to do. (1) Decarb. 240 F for 40 min with an oven thermometer works well. (2) Add the decarbed shatter to warm oil. Some people add lecithin, but it doesn't help everyone. I don't use it, so I can't recommend how much. The exact amount doesn't matter much, so just use an average internet value.

Next, you'll need to determine how much thc you want in a single dose, and how much oil volume will be in a dose. Following is a recipe that will yield 2 mg thc per milligram oil:

Assuming the shatter is 70% thc (check with your source to find out), 1 g (1000 mg) will contain 700 mg thc. To produce oil with 2 mg/mL you'd need (700 mg thc)/(2 mg thc/mL Oil) = 350 mL oil. 1 teaspoon is 5 mL, so 1 tsp of this would be about 10 mg thc, the recommended Colorado dose.