best way to cool a tent

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by bammthis, Apr 28, 2013.

1. I am new to growing and I live in Las Vegas and started my small grow in january hoping to get done by the time the temps reach 100 or more I am 3 weeks short of pulling my crop of 6 plants and the temps are reaching 100 and I need a cheap way to cool my 4 by 4 by 72 tent.I have though of building a misting system but what about fungal problems also there is the power thing to think about. I have found a small chiller that works by electricity alone no coil no compresser Amazon.com: IceProbe Thermoelectric Aquarium Chiller - 4 in. x 4 3/4 in. x 7 1/2 in.: Pet Supplies this what I am talking about.I was thinking of adding this to a evaporative cooler but thats 2 bills min. There is my third option of buying a car radiator a water pump and box fan and the chiller or freezing as many gl milk bottles as I can and wire the fan to the radiator run the water to both ends of the radiator and have a big plastic tub for the water with the frozen bottles or the chiller. I think this would be a fairly easy thing to engineer .I think the total amount spent with out the chiller would be about $50 the box fan $15 used radiator $20 and the pump $10 and then thers the clamps and hoses. I am not 100% sure that this will work to cool the tent even though its not vary big. I could use some help if any one has any experence with this type of thing please please i could use some help now.

2. Other than ducting the hot air out your room with a inline fan, can you run the ac in your home all day? I duct tape some duct to the a/c vents coming out the wall and ran that into the tent so when ever the a/c is on the tent cools. Another option is to go to one of your stores across town and buy something used that is cheap.