Berginner looking for tips with buying and starting an indoor setup

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Cooksley, Oct 11, 2018.

1. Im new to growing and would like some advice on what sort of stuff i would need for a 4x4 (1.2x1.2) tent

2. You can buy the tent with everything already in it. Just gotta get the beans and the indoor grow bible by Jose Cervantes.

3. Thanks for the help i was wondering what light to get ive got the 600w DIPARSPECTRA timer series but not sure if the light will be affective enough

5. I assume you mean Viparspectra. That light only draws 269 watts which won't be enough for a 4x4 - you would need at least 2 and possibly 3 for that space. Good luck and welcome to GC. :)

6. for the same price get 400 more watts with a 1000w hps(60 some watts per square foot). Don't forget to factor in the cost of a charcoal filter and vortex fan.

7. There is nothing wrong with using some well reviewed but cheap blurple LED's off of Amazon. There are better options out there, but the cheap LED's will work for your first couple grows. With more experience you can decide if you want to continue and invest larger sums into lights that will be 300% more expensive to add 10-15% to your harvest.

From my experience and research you want to have about 50 watts of LED light per square foot of plant canopy you are trying to grow. If you plan on having wall to wall plant canopy in your 4x4 tent that is 16 square feet so 800 watts of light. On LEDs you need to only count the wattage it uses at the wall. Ignore the claims of what it is equivalent to in HPS, and count what the light's actual electrical draw is. I use 2 LED's that draw 132 watts each, and one that draws 300 watts in my 4x4x7 tent. My last grow of 6 White Widow fem seeds netted me a hair over 14 ounces dry weight. Here is a link to my last grow as an example of what can be done with cheap lights..

Belated Grow Journal - 6 Fem White Widow