beginner in need of help

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by jrd2252, Dec 21, 2012.

1. hey everybody. true definition of a beginner here haha i'm just nearing the last few weeks of my first grow ever and i have become more and more perplexed as it's gone on and had so many questions come up that i never even thought about. i was hoping i could find some help on here, so i'm just going to shoot out a few questions and any help or answers would be greatly appreciated. first off i have 10 plants growing right now, i got autoflowering seeds of northern lights (5) and creamatic (5) just in case anybody has experience with these strains. i have one seed in each of ten 10 gallon pots, filled with a miracle gro blend for beginners, the soil is supposed to help prevent from over and under watering. i have two small flourescent bulbs lighting all ten pots in a small closet. so here are some problems or questions i've been running into-- with an autoflowering strain it had been loosely described to me almost as a "set it and forget it" plant. with watering it'll do the rest of the work. should i be using any nutrients or feeding them anything other than just regular watering? i've also encountered some small bugs. they look very similar to gnats and i haven't been able to read anything about them even though i've searched through a lot of the "common pests." would a pest strip in the closet help with this? are pesticides too much for some autoflowering strains? unfortunately i had bad timing in my planting because i was hit with hurricane sandy during their growing stage. i lost electricity for four days, so my plants were without light for four days out of what is only supposed to be 8-9 weeks from planting to harvesting. what kind of damage could this have caused? could this have ruined an entire harvest or will adjustments need to be made? also is there any danger in harvesting after the recommended time? will the thc or potency of the medicine deterio