Before I get started... (also in absolute beginners)

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Johnny_Cool, Aug 26, 2010.

1. This is also posted in absolute beginners. I figured I'd post here too to see if I can get an answer:

Hello GC :wave:

I've almost got my brain in order to get all the bits n' pieces together for a successful soil grow. Here's the rundown so far:

-Lights: 100w (actual) 6400k cfl array for vegging and 400w HPS security light for flowering (will adapt housing to be air cooled).

-Ventilation: 200CFM inline duct fan and a 7 kilo (of carbon) home-made carbon scrubber.

I need some advice on a couple of things:

Is 7 kilos (15lbs) of carbon overkill for a 200cfm extractor?

Ph and EC meter: Will this do to get me started?

Since the meter is listed for aquarium use I have no qualms about ordering it online, however I understand that the Ph up and down solutions used in aquariums are not suitable for cannabis farming. I want to source Ph buffers locally (Europe) so can anyone give me some tips on what is acceptable? Actual chemical names would be useful too.

Last thing I want to ask about is what size you guys recommend for my flower and veg boxes:

I'm planning on doing SCROG with a bunch of clones from a mother plant. I plan to flower the clones pretty much as soon as they've rooted to keep the size of the mature plants to a minimum.

-What kind of space am I going to need to feed a 400w flowering chamber with enough clones to do a SCROG every 2 months?

-What size should the flowering chamber be?

-How far apart should I space the plants considering that they will be very small at the start of the flowering cycle?

Sorry for the epic post, there's a lot to chew on there I know, but I would be so grateful for some real world advice on my issues.

Thanks very much for taking the time to read, and I look forward to your replies :eek: