Beer

Discussion in 'General' started by Boson-H, May 12, 2014.

1. #1 Boson-H, May 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2014
    So I am just getting into craft beers. Bought 4 of them from the beer shop(pe) today, costed $22! Bit pricey, but I have high hopes.

The lady asked me what my preferences would be, I didn't really know. I don't know much about beers...I said something with a nutty roasted flavor, or a heavy oat-y flavor. Then she asked do I prefer a stout or porter?

I was like uh. No idea. Lol.

So what ARE all the types, what's the major differences? I saw stuff like ale, porter, stout, pale ale, lager, ipa, and probably a few others.

Also, on beeradvocate.com people rate beers based on the beers' "head", "body", "lacing", and people regularly mention hops and the nose.

IE: Light aromas of chocolate and dark malts are present in the nose.
    It poured with a thin tan head that quickly died down, leaving some wispy lacing on the surface
    I want the thick body and with a name like Drake's crude it should be thicker.

Anyone wanna educate me?

2. Idk what your asking but if you want a real beer drink Guinness. Pour it out of the can and into a cup/mug

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

• Like Like x 1
  3. Idk all the differences but I do know I like myself a good IPA or pale Ale

From the taste IPA's are a little more bitter and Pale Ales are more smooth.

4. I'm asking what the differences are, and what head, lacing, body, nose etc are.

I've just figured out IPA is "India Pale Ale" and that ale is similar to lager, the difference is the strain of yeast used during fermentation. I guess lager and ale are lighter beers, and stouts/porter are heavier.