Basic Setup And Ducting.

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by MeRliN__36, May 24, 2011.

1. trying to work out before i go ahead with it.

so the space is

14' x 11' i will be using 9' x 10 ' of that for lighting 8 600's and 1 1000 in a square shape with the 1000 in the center.

x x x
    x X x
    x x x

i am trying to figure out the ducting i have a 12" high velocity can fan that i have hooked up to a window box so what is the best way to split the 12" into 3 chains of lights? This would bring fresh air into the hoods and then out of the roof. all hoods are 6".

2. couple pics,.

Attached Files:

3. nice set-up. i would make 3 chains or make the air come in on the 2 outside strings of linghts then combine and run down the middle, but put a good fan at the end, and 2 med fans at the begining of each end, so the air flow wont be to much once combined

4. I have no experience with this many lights, so I was hesitant to post here.

But my only concern is the fact that 6" flex is pretty restrictive. It can handle about 150cfm before it becomes very restrictive and noisy. A comparable 12" inline fan is capable of 1000cfm. Those 3 flex runs would be attempting 333 cfm a piece, over double their reccomened max CFM. However, if you had 9 individual flex runs, they would be well within recommended range at 110 cfm a piece.

What are the dimensions on that filter? If it is large enough, you could connect it to the fan and encase it in round duct with a cap on the end, creating a "filter box". Then run each flex run from each hood to it with takeoff's.

With that setup you will move more air, without noise/restriction, and provide fresh air to each light (so the light at the end isn't being cooled with 100+ degree air)

Hope this helps

5. ok didnt really think of doing that.... well hmm