Back To Philosophy

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by MrsCharliB, Oct 5, 2010.

1. Before one can even question something in a philosophical manner, one must truely understand what Philosophy is:

1. What is Philosophy?
    2. What is Critical Thinking?
    3. What does the above mentioned mean for you personally, in your everyday life and your future?

Ask yourself these questions, and if yu ca answer them properly then maybe you can speak philosophically and think critically.

These were the firs three things we had to write on whe I started studying philosophy, its always interesting to see what other people think about what the answers to the above are. Dot you agree?

2. Philosophy is the love of wisdom. But to me it's pure metaphysics.

Critical thinking is understanding alot about game theory. It's certainly not memorizing a list of fallacies.

This means that I will win alot of debates in life. (or at least I'll think I'm winning)

3. As long as you think you're winning that is all that matters

4. But isnt it better to walk away knowing more than you do when you first start the debate? to me that seems much more important than "winning".

5. In other words you can't philosophise unless you've been to college.

Bullshit.

6. The "winning" mentality defeats the point in debating/discussing in the first place. A true philosopher goes into a situation appreciating that any dialectical points that quash what he already thinks should be thought about carefully and quite probably accepted.

Well...as much as you can accept anything to be "true" or whatever you want to call it. If you're just trying to win that's purile, you have no love of knowledge if your obvjective is to win.

7. Of course it's more important. You just get both done at the same time.

8. The very first post in the thread. :)

In fact, it's the whole point.

Which completely refutes itself.

9. I took a philosophy class once and I got nothing from it.