autoflower oddity

Discussion in 'Cannabis Breeding' started by greenfinger00, Jun 30, 2019.

1. ok so i've been breeding autoflowers for about 2 years on and off. over that time i've seen a few freaks: self topping plants etc.. anyways this time around i planted 15 reg seeds in order to chose one male with which to make my next cross. seeds sprouted and showed sex: 7 males, 8 females. gave females away to a friend and culled 4 of the 7 males. (those 4 not flowering as fast as the others or not impressing me growth rate wise.)
    the 3 chose to keep all grew at the same rate, showed male preflower at day 22 at the 4th node. didn't look in on them for 3 days. when i looked in today one of the plants is flowering female. there were 4 male flowers at the 4th node almost ready to drop pollen and everything above the 4th node is female flower even the preflowers.
    i'v never had any hermie's show up before and i grow out a lot of seeds. i give plants to friends who don't really grow so i can see what they do under different conditions i.e. window sills, greenhouse, burple leds.. up untill now i had found this breeding line to be solid.
    i've looked online and cant find any mention of male preflowers and female bud. there's loads of info on female plants with male flowers but none on this topic..
    i picked off the male preflowers as they were almost ready to drop pollen and i didn't want any dodgy stray pollen polluting my garden. i forgot to get a photo first. doh..
    so anyway has anyone ever seen this or read about it ?

• Informative Informative x 1
  2. Sounds like a true hermaphrodite, a polyploid. Normal cannabis is diploid, XX XY. A polyploid has 3 or more chromosomes XXY XYY XXYY etc... They express in some interesting ways.

3. its been 3 weeks since i discovered the hermie. i kept the plant on the edge of my garden and have been observing it every few days.. it looks female in every way now. nice flowers and no bananas..