Asthma???

Discussion in 'General' started by GimmieMore, Jan 28, 2009.

1. So I was born with asthma. I used to have a rescue inhalor, but I never had a major attack or anything. I started playing trumpet when I was 9, and by the time i was 15-16 I stopped using inhalors completely. My lungs were strong, and I never had a problem.

I haven't been playing much, or been nearly as active as I used to in general.....

Now when I smoke I have a horrible cough..... all the time.... sometimes I can't even hold the smoke. Its like the smoke hits my lungs and they go, "Whoa! What the fuck are you doing?? Oh my god!! Stop it!!"

I've been told this may be due to my asthma resurfacing.......

Any ideas?

2. i'd say try a vaporizer, it'll probably be easier on your lungs. don't know for sure though.

3. ive had asthma my entire life. Its does affect my smoking every once and a while, so i keep an inhaler just incase my asthma starts to act up.

If it keeps happening youre probably just have to find an alternative.

BUT if your not on any meds, i'd recommened advair. works great. Helps prevent any asthma attacks.

4. I had severe asthma as a child which was so bad I had to be hospitalized. I'm fine now though and I don't even remember the last time I used an inhaler. Sometimes it's like you said, but only when using bowls or blunts. With any water pieces I can take as big a hit as I want.

What are you smoking out of? Maybe the smoke is just too harsh. I know when I take a huge hit off of a blunt, it burns my throat/chest and I exhale almost as quickly as I inhale.

5. I have this problem a lot also. It happens with cigarettes too. In my opinion, I think my brain knows that smoke of any kind is bad for my lungs, and it forces my physical body to reject the smoke. Blunts are easier for me to handle than hand pipes, but bongs/bubblers pretty much cut the coughing/hacking down to 0.

BTW i had asthma when I was a little kid, but I'm pretty sure I'm good now.