Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Anything I can do we freezer burnt bud?

Discussion in 'Marijuana Consumption Q&A' started by slopemat, Feb 17, 2019.

1. So i’m very sure this bud I bought is freezer burnt, the potency is next to nothing. (the purple ones obviously lol)

[​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

2. I am no expert but I do not believe there is a whole lot you can do about it unless the bud is genetically purple. Buds have a green pigment from chlorophyll which is used to help it absorb energy from light, or photosynthesis. Under cold temperatures chlorophyll can break down and allow other colors and pigments of the weed to become dominant. The purple you are seeing is from anthocyanins, which is a flavonoid in your herb. Anthocyanins doesnt always present itself in a purplish hue it depends on the genetics of your strain. A lot of people would believe that the high anthocyanin content in your bud would have a lot of medical benefit such as as anti-inflammatory and helping vital organs, some even suggest it improves your vision. There's not a lot of evidence on the health benefits of it, however I personally wouldn't disregard it considering how many different compounds there are in bud and how they change for various purposes, such as decarboxylation.