Anyone that knows about cars?

Discussion in 'General' started by m18, Aug 30, 2012.

1. My AC just stopped working as I was sitting in the car, I got out and there was a green fluorescent like substance and a decent amount. I opened the hood and it was steaming a little, not sure what it is if it's a leak or something broke? The car still runs fine, anyone have any idea what it is and if so how much it will be to fix it?

2. I'm not a mechanic but I know a little bit, my guess would be one of your lines is leaking.

3. sounds like antifreeze

what kind of car do you have? I think the color is different for each

4. Don't know much about cars. You should check your coolant level.

5. Antifreeze. Taste it, is it sweet? :laughing:

6. If it's green it's coolant. don't run the car anymore unless you have too it may overheat which can ruin an engine in a couple of minutes. Check the coolant level see if it's low. Also keep your eye on the temp guage.

I gotta stress this can go from a small leak to you needing a new engine. Take it in.

7. I'd also go with antifreeze.
    Check you're coolant levels and keep an eye on it.

However I'm not to up on AC systems.
    Take it to a garage bro, coolant leaks suck balls and I hate trying to find them.

8. Antifreeze here too. Do NOT drive it. As someone above said, if enough leaks out you will overheat and ruin the engine.

9. did your ac stop working or start blowing hot air in? if it was blowing in hot air and with the leak its def a cooling issue. could be your water pump. how old is your car and have you ever replaced the water pump? and as everyone else has said dont drive it or even run it. you could end up with a costly engine replacement.

10. Ya guys I drove it to an autoshop less than a mile away and kept an eye on the temp gage the Bypass hose broke that feeds coolant to the engine, it's not that big of job should be about 175$ it's a pain to get to the parts alone are only 40$.