anyone have good info on Ebb&Flow?

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by Gimme Wafflez, Nov 25, 2011.

1. i'm trying to find a good hot-to on building an ebb&flow system, maybe I didn't search well enough.. but any help is greatly appreciated. I welcome all help ;)

2. looks like its been over a month since you posted this. if you still need some help, i can offer some advise, if you would like? I have been growing for about 5 years now and i have used many methods. I have found that an ebb and flow system was the cheapest and easiest way to grow. you cant go wrong with a flood and drain system. all the parts you will need can be bought at any hardwear store, k mart , wal mart, or even your dollor stores have things you can use. The first thing you need to know is, how much room do you have to store you water tanks and flood trays, are your tanks going to be stored in the same place as your flood trays? for me, i i have a grow tent that i made out of pvc pipe and plastic panda film.panda film is simply black plastic thats white on the inside, just google it. my grow tent is 4 feet wide by 4 feet deep by 6 feet tall. i use this for my flower chamber. for that space i use one of those plastic tote bins found at lowes or wal mart. if you get the medium size to large size bin, these will hold between 10 to 20 gallons of water. thats used for my water supply tank, this holds all your water and nutrient solution to feed your plants. what you need to keep in mind,is how many many plants are going to be in the flood tray? your supply tank or tanks depending on your grow size, the tanks are basicialy about 18 to 20 inches tall by 18 to 20 inches wide by 24 to 36 inches long, I use one tank. the next thing you will need will be a flood tray. to pump water into. for a flood tray i use yet another plastic storage container i found at wal mart. the flood tray should be about 5 to 6 inches deep by 24 to 36 inches wide by 36 to 48 inches long. the deepth of the tray should be