Anyone else have problems with Fox Farm?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by alpha_Baked, Nov 18, 2008.

1. I am new to hydro but not to growing. This has been my first go with a hydro set up and I started with Fox Farm nutes. Now I introduced the Big Bloom to my res at one and a half weeks into veg and noticed a ring forming in my tray. The ring got heavier over the next few days and had turned the flood tray from black to a fairly heavy brown in a week. Along this time I started to have some wild ph swings up to 1 point in as little as two hours. Also ended up getting some light nute burn on the new leaves after about a week of using the Big Bloom at full strength. I changed the res, flushed my system and had a thick mud in the bottom of my res. I went to a local Hydro store talked to the guy there about the problems that I have had and he said that the Big Bloom was intended for soil growers and that it needs some time to further break down and decompose before it is really working for your plants. He recomended that I switch to the GH line and I have now been using them with out problems for a week now. Now it seems that I was getting alot quicker and thicker growth with the Fox Farm nutes but at the risk of killing my girls I think I will stay with the GH. I was wondering if anyone else here has had similar problems with Fox Farm and found a way to work with it or is there some step that I am missing in their use?