anyone been part of an lgbt group?

Discussion in 'Sex, Love & Relationships' started by cheeerios, Aug 4, 2012.

1. I recently came out to myself (i dunno if that counts for anything but whatever haha) as potentially bisexual, but haven't really explored. So I signed up for a Q&A (queers and allies) mentoring group at the college I'm going to this fall, but now I'm really nervous.

Have any of you been to something similar? What usually goes on? How private was it? etcccc.

2. Hey, I think you're doing the right thing. I'm a guest psychologist on a gay radio program in Mexico City, so if you have any questions I'd be happy to chat with you about it.

I think what you can expect from this group is discussion on the experience of being gay, what everyone might be experiencing within their families etc... and a place for people to go so they don't feel alone. There might also be activities that promote social awareness of the LGBT community as a way to integrate into the dominant culture.

You might want to find out how private this club usually is. Clubs like this usually promote pride in one's sexual identity so don't expect secrecy, but I'm sure that you can expect the discretion of others in the group.

Congrats on taking care of yourself and taking the time to think about what this means to you.

3. I'm vice president of my college's GSA. Privacy and all that is probably our top priority. We have a facebook page, but we always take extreme care and caution not to post pictures without clear and explicit permission of each of our members in the photo. We also refrain from mentioning the names of people in GSA outside of GSA without permission. I'm not out to my family, so all of these things were very appreciated by me.