Any other cooks/chefs floating around the forum?

Discussion in 'The Great Indoors' started by The_Igor, Jun 1, 2016.

1. Hey guys, I'm a working cook. I love what I do, and obviously I'm also a stoner. Just curious of how many other cooks/chefs actually chat on this forum.

2. Right here 6 years into cooking. Sous chef at a very popular restaurant&bakery in my city. Knives are beginning to become an obsession. But it's all good because #knifeskills Hahahaha

• Like Like x 1
  3. Oh damn. You got some experience over me. I'm just about to pass my first year. I'm a late starter. Yeah, I'm only at 2 knifes so far. A trusty Chef(8in.) and Pairing knife. Trying to get a knife roll next. I read The Professional Chef like its a bible. lol.

4. Yeah man it get fun when you get into it. I have a couple shuns, a morimoto and some random santokus. Also picked up a 7" cleaver at my local dollar store for $3. Holds a better edge then my kitchens line knives. Just goes to show those brand name knives are great and all, but quality can be found anywhere.

5. Oh yeah man. I know a guy who grabbed a cheap Japanese cleaver for like $15 and loves it. Shit, I have the 2 which are both J.A. Heinkels. No one believes I was at target with the girlfriend shopping for something(can't remember anymore but it was like new cutting boards for home or some crap) I saw the pairing and 8in chef knife hanging with the crap brands. $65! On sale for both! The chef's alone is an $80 knife so you bet I jumped on that real quick.

6. Making food is a very fun thing for a stoner!

I don't actually cook, but am a sushi chef. Still fun.

As for knives, names isn't too important, but the steel, heat treat, geometry and fit and finish is really important to me. As you can imagine, knives are very important in sushi. The Japanese know how to make knives!

• Like Like x 1
  7. That's pretty awesome. How did you get into the art of Sushi? That's a trade not a lot of people I've worked with really know.