Any mehcanics out there???

Discussion in 'General' started by KB_124, Mar 11, 2003.

1. Just thought about it..Haven't met too many stoners who enjoy auto mechanics.. Are ya out there?? Last friday I pulled the transmission from a '93 Jimmy..Started to put it back in today, but got sidetracked with another project :).....

2. it'd b an occupational hazzard i woulda thought... can't smoke a J when the entire surface around u is flamable greese and oil.

3. Hell yeah, i'm a certified licensed mechanical tech and i think the coolest thing i ever got to wrench on was an engine from a b-52 bomber. those fuckers are big!

A few of us in the shop a few years back rebuilt a General Electric dual centrifugal inflow charged turbojet as a "historcal demonstration of early jet propulsion" but was really our excuse to play with 20,000 lbs of supersonic thrust.

This engine was used on the P-80 shooting star, one of the US's earliest jet interceptor aircraft.

A team of 4 of us worked to rebuild parts that have not been produced in 30 years, and with some head scratching, welding, machine work, and fabrication we had a complete engine.

We took it outside and bolted and chained it down on the test range, hooked it up to our kerosene storage tank, and fired up the Ground Power Unit (GPU, which is a 550CI hemispherical combustion chamber V8, yes, basically a bored/stroked MOPAR) high performance electric generator to provide the power to light off the high-energy starter sparker in the combustion can. After a few minor adjustments to fuel pressure, N1%, and P&D ratio tuning we began ignition sequence, fuel pressure, dump valve closed, N1% RPM was reached and that fucker lit off!!!!