Any Jazz musicians?

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by downdowndown, Mar 5, 2009.

1. I want to know what it feels like to play jazz when your high? Easy or harder to play? Any good experiences you've had with it. :]

2. the same, but way more pleasureable to play while high... it kinds flows better too.

3. Depends what jazz. I hate playing bop or heavily involved harmonic shit when stoned, but groove-based stuff is awesome. Odd time signatures and mixed meter rhythms are awesome to play high too.

Pretty much, anything you have together is fun to play.

I prefer to practice sober though.

4. i'm a jazz bassist. it's unpredictable for me and it can depend how recently i smoked, how much i smoked, or my mood and energy level before smoking. a lot of times it makes me feel like i listen and interact with the band on a deeper level and i come up with better and more original ideas than usual. occasionally it seems to have a negative influence though, like if the smoking just makes me feel really tired and worn out then sometimes i just can't think or my time feel gets screwed up.

5. played tenor sax in jazz band in hs. really enjoyed it. had a solo in chameleon.

6. Jazz musician here. It can be fun to play high, but I find playing sober always produces the best results.

7. I've been playing the alto sax since elementary school and I'm now in several professional jazz bands. I play a lot of Charlie Parker and find it much easier to play while stoned. In fact, most jazz musicians smoke weed. This was especially true in the 50's. Peace :smoking:

8. Jazz bassist right here. I find I sound much smoother when im high. Opiates are best.

9. Playing jazz high is great. I've been experimenting with Logic lately and I think I'll bring it to my next jam session so I can record it. The most noticeable effect of playing high for is that my solos become much more creative.