Am i using the right soil?- COMPLETE NEWBB

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by ozsteel, May 10, 2012.

1. I bought some miracle gro soil to plant my clone in to start off with it was really soft and spongy, but now I feel like it isnt draining well at all. I tried to check the drainage with my new ph tester, and the water just floated on top of the soil for a good two-three mins or so. Shoudl I stop using this soil? Any thoughts? I didnt mix with perlite.

2. You're asking for trouble using MG with MJ.

3. Yeah the dude is right miracle grow sucks for what your doing. Get some other soil that has worm castings and act guano and add perlite

4. #4 Doc-J, May 10, 2012
    Last edited: May 10, 2012
    If you have to use cheap soil, add perlite. Ive had soil so bad, uoi coild mix in 60% perlite and it still wouldnt drain well.

Miracle grow sucks overall, I wont even grow veggies in it because of so many problems. I do like fox farms, but realize not everyone has access or funds. Just about any large city will have a real gardening store though, with something better than miracle grow.

5. Miracle Grow doesn't suck at all, it's a great soil for veggies, phenomenal for flowers,.. just not made for Cannabis.

Comes with time release nutes that can burn when they kick in.

6. iv seen it used sucssesfully there just so many variables that could affect your end product tho :/ i would def stop using MG around the time i induced budding so you dont contaminate your bud with MG

7. what's so phenomenal about MG for flowers? I seriously doubt that. then again I also doubt how phenomenal most chemical ferilizers are but there are endless testimonials for them.

8. My wife built a grotto next to the pool that we use MG in every year. From their potting soil to their feed. The compliments never stop. If YOU can't get them to grow, maybe we can help, but it's time to stop blaming the soil.

9. #9 PlantEngineer, May 11, 2012