Am I heading down the path to opiate addiction?

Discussion in 'Pandora's Box' started by Trich0me, Aug 31, 2009.

1. For the past couple years, painkillers have been my drug of choice. I used to only do it occasionally, usually at about 30mg at a time. Well, I should say that I would go on short binges every now and then, maybe for a week or so.

For the past two months or so, I have been taking pain pills pretty much every day. Hydrocodone and Oxycodone mainly. I've taken Morphine a couple times and Hydromorphone once. Usually, like today, I take a total of 20-25mg of Vicodin throughout the day. 5mg in the morning, 5mg before bed, and I'll pop two or three more 5's between those doses. I've been doing this for a couple months now. I haven't increased my dosage or taken more than 5mg at a time.

I don't have a script or anything, I buy them and take them mostly because they help me socialize. I have terrible social problems, and when I take them I am very outgoing. They also just put a spring to my step throughout the day, in whatever I'm doing. I realize that this is a dangerous course of action, which is why I haven't gone over 25mg a day. I just won't let myself, no matter how high my tolerance gets (I really can't notice a major difference between the feeling I get now and the feeling I got two months ago).

I'm going to continue this, because I'm dependent on them. I've come to terms with that. When I don't have any, I don't get sick or anything, but I do feel a little down if I get bored. As long as I stay busy I'm all right and can deal just fine, so I don't think I'm addicted. I was wondering if anyone a bit wiser than me, that has maybe done this before and been through it, could tell me if I'm headed that way. I kind of feel safe because I'm moderating myself so well, and I'm taking such low doses. I have substantial self control with them these days, I will also add.