Alcoholism

Discussion in 'General' started by barleymalted, Jun 9, 2013.

1. #1 barleymalted, Jun 9, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 9, 2013
    Why don't people understand that alcohol is a drug just like any illicit drug. Why is it that if you choose to consume alcohol excessively you have a genetic disease and you can't really be blamed for it. After all, you're sick and it's beyond your control and you get all this sympathy and shit.

Now if your poison of choice happens to be an illicit substance you're just a drug addict and you're 100% to blame for ever touching that first marajuhuana.

The fact that alcoholism is accepted as a legit disease by modern medicine really grinds my gears. I've been drinking excessively almost daily for 7 years and yeah I'm somewhat dependent on alcohol to relax, but if I feel like taking some time off from drinking I do just that. Just don't crack that next brew and hit the fuckin gym or something.. Nobody's forcing your hand to crack another bottle and pouring it down your throat. It's a mother effing DECISION you make or not make.

I'm so fucking sick of peoples retarded view on substance use and lack of fuckin self control. Just needed to vent. Cheers! 

2. #2 dubstepping23, Jun 9, 2013
    Drinking beer right now but people are weak and alcohol is an accepted drug.

3. says the guy who needs alcohol to relax..if you didnt you would havent been drinking daily for 7 years..why not hit the gym or somethin? lol

4. #4 barleymalted, Jun 9, 2013
    I drink excessively cause I don't give a shit, not because I think I'm diseased and have no control wether I drink or not. I recently stopped cold turkey and didn't touch a drink for 5 months and hit the gym every day.

How did I do it? Simple, I just didn't do it.

5. So you dont have an addictive personality and addicts do..do you actually know any addicts? Not as simple as "just dont do it"

6. Trust me, I'm borderline OCD and have an extremely addictive personality.