Aerated compost tea

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by uberkush, Nov 29, 2011.

1. For my next grow I will be doing full organics. So I have been reading about aerated compost tea. Seems like the three main ingredients are worm castings, kelp meal, and fish hydrolysate. I have no idea where i would get kelp meal or fish hydrolysate so can i just use worm castings to make the tea?

2. I'm a organics noob, but from what I've read you could do that and it would separate the microbes from the castings, making them more available for the soil, but the point of the tea is to grow the microbes and make them stronger. The lack of ingredients would neglect to give them the proper food to grow and become super microbes.

3. Awesome bro. I have decided to to the fully organic microbe thing also with supersoil, and AACT. I am currently searching out books so I can learn all the in' and out's.

4. ewc's and molasses and you're good for bacteria. Some kelp meal (not fish emulsion) and a bit of rock dust for more fungal growth. Of the two, the fungal growth is the most difficult to achieve.

Read the sticky at the top of the organics forum on compost teas. For books read Teaming With Microbes. If you have a good soil mix with high quality ewc's and good compost, the bacterial tea is a bit superfluous. Multiple applications of high fungal tea is what I would recommend.

5. Here's a couple of places online that would be worth reading if you want to learn about aerated compost tea:

Gardening With Microbes: Articles
    Microbe Organics
    Soil Foodweb

I highly recommend doing some research and reading before diving in and trying to build a brewer. ACT is great, but it's not a silver bullet....

6. Eco 12, what a re the potentail hazards of attempting to brew act's/breweing incorrectly?

Also what kind of conditions in the Act would support e. coli or other human transmitted pathogens?

thanks,..