Advice on used bike from experienced riders

Discussion in 'Planes, Trains & Automobiles' started by epiic, Dec 2, 2011.

1. So I've been riding for a good 9 years now. I have always bought new except for one instance I bought a used 929rr from my cousin for $4k. Bike was mint with 600 miles on it. I am looking at a used 2007 Honda 1000rr to purchase now where I live with 4800 miles on it. The bike has been dropped on both sides. The seller is asking $8k. Fair price, should I ask for lower, or skip it altogether?

I rode the bike, frame and forks are completely straight. What do you guys think?

image-1888236586.png

image-854990946.png

image-2256192585.png

image-1091063301.png

image-1055957521.png

image-3319216472.png

image-3828357696.png

2. Hell no, if it's been dropped on both sides you should get a way better deal

3. [quote name='"midnittoke"']Hell no, if it's been dropped on both sides you should get a way better deal[/quote]

Yeah I thought so myself. But what would be a fair deal is what I am asking? He originally wanted $10k and dropped it down to $8k.

As a note, I live in a third world country in South America. Japanese bikes here are expensive!!!!!! A MINT Yamaha, Honda, or Suzuki 1000cc with 8,000-15,000 miles go for $12k-$18k here.

4. Looking at a mint 2008 repsol Honda here n my town. 3200 miles. And its 8 grand. From a dealer. Not worth it if its been over even on one side.

5. [quote name='"blackzinger"']Looking at a mint 2008 repsol Honda here n my town. 3200 miles. And its 8 grand. From a dealer. Not worth it if its been over even on one side.[/quote]

Unfortunately dealers are non existent here! I am very jealous of you!!! I am still interested in the bike even though it's been down on both sides. Just for the matter of the fact that the next Honda 1000rr available is a 2004 with 13,7xx miles on it. It's mint with a price tag of $16,500.