acoustic guitar?

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by cobber218, Mar 11, 2009.

1. I've been playing guitar for about two years, and have re-strung my old fender acoustic quite a few times. However, I bought an Alvarez a few months ago, and have had quite a bit of trouble trying to put new strings on it. I got the old ones off just fine, but when I try to put the new ones in, the bridge pins keep popping out! This issue seems to be less prevalent on the higher strings, but the low E and A refuse to stay put. Any tips on keeping my bridge pins from popping out?

2. #2 gollygreengiant, Mar 11, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2009
    stick your finger on the pin and just push as hard as you can. if you hold it with enough strength then you should hold the pins in. that's the easiest way.

3. use something really hard like a hammer or something to carefully just knock it in there.

4. Easy fix man :cool:

Take needle nose pliers and at the end of the string where the little brass ferrule string retainer is that you stick inside the bridge hole pin , make the end have a 90 degree bend as near to the end of the string where that ferrule is looped by the wire so it catches as you tighten it . It snags inside before sliding out the hole like what your having a bad time over :eek: !

Good luck I'm picking up my steel string now as I torch up a doobie :smoking:

See ya :wave:

Aloha

Local Boy

5. #5 TheNightGoes90, Mar 13, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2009
    First guitar I ever had was an Alvarez acoustic, and I had similar problems when changing strings. I think it's got something to do with the quality of the wood used for the bridge. I always had problems removing pegs when I needed to change strings as well.

I wish I had some tips for you, man, but there's not much you can do other than listening to the suggestions others have offered.

Alvarez acoustics have a decent sound, but they're pretty lame on the whole.