Absolutely Brand New

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by MajesticWhelk, Oct 1, 2007.

1. Hey guys,

I have been an avid pot smoker for years now, and I have just run into an opportunity to make my growing dreams a reality. I am completely new to the grow scene. I have never attempted to grow, or ever known anyone who has. I have been doing as much research as I can cram into my brain, and I have decided on going with the following set-up for my first grow:

1x HydroHut Complete from HydroWholesale.com (52" x 52" x 7')
    1x 400w HPS lighting system
    1x Soiless Mix
    1x 4" Inline Vent Fan w/ Charcoal filter

I am going to be growing 16 plants from clones in my grow hut, and I will be purchasing the plants from my local cannibus club. The plants I will be growing is of a local strain called "Odyssey" which I believe is a pure indica strain. I have no experience with fertilizers, etc.

Does anyone have any suggestions about my setup? Any questions? Does anyone have any recommendations for what nutrients I should use with a soilless mix setup? Also I believe tap water in my area will be saline, considering I live less than a few miles from the ocean. Should I be worried about this?

I'm sure you were all in my position once. Come on, help a metaphorical brotha out with some fat ass buds. Thanks for your time guys.

-THE MAJESTIC FIVE HORNED WHELK

2. Welcome!

I may have gone a bit larger on the light, assuming you are doing a flat grow. Though if you research some stadium style grows, you may be able to increase the yield while saving on wattage.

I only mention the light as I always use a 3'x3' area with a 400 watter.

Your ability to get clones will speed things up and save the hassle of veg chamber, mom chamber, etc.

Everything else sounds good....will have to see if the fan keeps up with the heat over time, but thats easy to upgrade.

Best of luck - OGH