Absolute beginner

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by BigBoisClub, Nov 12, 2011.

1. Ive been doing alot of research and I have not started growing yet but i want to make sure i have everything set up right.
    Any suggestions on what kind of cannabis i should start off with?

I am ordering a 2.5x1.5'x3' Mylar Grow Tent Clone Room 30"x18"x36".
    I will be growing in the grow tent which will be placed inside of my closet. My closet is 42" x 22" x 72". I am going to be putting it in my closet because i have roomates that live with me and i dont want them to know what i am doing.

To get rid of the smell i am planning on getting a carbon filter.

Im a little bit confused on the lighting i should use to start off my plant.
    I wanted to start off with a "Quad-band 225 LED Grow Light Panel Hydroponic Plant Lamp Blue Red Orange White". The light panel size is 12" L x 12" W x 1-1/2" H.

However alot of people start off with CFLs and i dont want to give the plants to much light. What would be a better option? Do they need 24 hr lighting to start off with?

Thanks in advance

2. most people use t5's or cfl's to start...I just used a cheap 48" shop light with one blue spectrum and one red bulb and that got 6 females to 12 inches before i went under the MH...also I always do 18/6

3. Bad idea to try to grow with others in the house that you want to keep a secret from them. First, you will get caught -- there just are to many strange sounds, odors, and activities associated with growing. Plus, you put them at risk without them even knowing about it. And I'm just guessing that you are in a rented apartment, which also is a bad idea.

Read up in the security sub-section. Growing MJ requires stealth and a serious attitude about the risk you are taking and also that you are not putting on others. You need your own, secure place to grow.

4. Hi,