About to start flowering

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by mrog1718, May 22, 2010.

1. I am planning on flower my plant some time tonight. I have one plant under 250 watts of cfls, in a bubble bucket. I have been using the Lucas formula for my nutrients, my question is should i flush out my system and start with all new water and nutes? or can i just add a the difference in the nutes? any other comments or suggestions are welcome this is my first time flowering.

thanks

2. bump any help??

3. Yes, always change your water when you switch from veg to flower. Now you'll be using 0-8-16 instead of 0-5-10

4. change half your CFLs to 2700k if you haven't already. Then change them all after the plants stop producing new vegetative growth (after preflower -- 2-3 weeks in).

Your results will be far better.

5. I've never grown hydro, so dont take this is fact, I'm merely spreculating.

To me, it seems to stand that by slowly diluting your nutrient solution from grow, to pure h20, to bloom, that you help ease the plant into flowering and reduce stress. My thinking is that the plants hormonal switch or what not, is not instant, so the nutrient switch shouldnt be. Much like the light scedule.

6. There's 2 ways to use the Lucas Formula. The first is add-back, where you add full strength nutes to your reservoir when ever you "top off".

The other method is to start with full strength nutes then "top off" with plain water.

Having run both these Lucas methods (not to mention others), I've never had a problem with stress from moving from veg to flower :smoke:

7. Word. That's the kind of first hand experience i like to hear about. I grow soil, and like to wean off of veg and then into flower. I've noticed less stretch, thicker stems, and somehow, denser bud. All part of dialing into the strain yanno?

8. should i do this at the same time i switch to 12/12 or leave it at 24/0 and switch to 12/12 when they are all 2700k